

7-4-2025

Scheduled water cut: 40% households to get supply within 24 hours, says Penang water body



GEORGE TOWN: The scheduled water supply interruption (SWSI) between April 25 and 28 in Penang will resume for 40% of those affected within the first 24 hours.

Penang Water Supply Corporation (PBAPP) executive officer Datuk K. Pathmanathan said 136,683 consumers are expected to receive water supply within 24 hours of the disruption, while another 163,502 consumers within 48 hours and the remaining 41,523 in 60 hours.

"We (PBAPP) are planning to restore water supply services for about 40% of the affected consumers in 24 hours.

"In 48 hours, water supply services should resume for about 88% of those affected including the factories in Penang's major industrial areas, Penang consumers and the Penang International Airport.

"In 60 hours, water supply should be fully restored for all the affected consumers," he said in a statement on Monday (April 7).

Pathmanathan said the water disruption will affect 341,708 consumers in the state.

"The disruption is scheduled to commence on a Friday (April 25) night and over the weekend to minimise inconveniences for affected consumers.

"This SWSI is the only planned water supply interruption that will be carried out by PBAPP in 2025.

"Its primary purpose is to facilitate 23 water works projects in 26 locations throughout Penang," he said.

He said these projects are necessary to upgrade and improve water supply services for a total of 465,000 water consumers in the service areas of the Sungai Dua Water Treatment Plant (WTP), which is Penang's largest and most important WTP.

Areas affected in the North Seberang Perai are the ones in the vicinity of the Sungai Dua WTP - Bagan Dalam, Bagan Jermal and Butterworth, the southern-most reaches of Permatang Berangan, Sungai Puyu and Sungai Dua.

Areas not affected by the disruption under North Seberang Perai are Bertam, Kepala Batas, Penaga, Pinang Tunggal, Tasek

Gelugor and Telok Air Tawar, as well as the most areas north of the Sungai Dua WTP in Sungai Dua, Sungai Puyu and Permatang Berangan.

Areas affected in Central Seberang Perai are Alma, Berapit, Bukit Minyak, Bukit Tengah, Machang Bubok, Padang Lalang, Penanti, Seberang Perai, Permatang Pasir, Permatang Pauh and Seberang Jaya.

While areas not affected in Central Seberang Perai are Bukit Mertajam.

In South-West Seberang Perai areas affected are Batu Kawan Industrial Areas, Bukit Tambun, Jawi, Nibong Tebal (northern neighbourhoods), Simpang Ampat, Sungai Bakap (northern areas) and Valdor.

Areas not affected in South Seberang Perai are southern-most areas of Nibong Tebal, Sungai Acheh and Sungai Bakap (service areas of the Bukit Panchor WTP).

On the island, those affected in the northeast district are Batu Lanchang, Gelugor, George Town, Green Lane, Gurney Drive, Island Glades, Island Park, Jelutong, Komtar, Minden Heights, Sungai Dua and USM as well as a few neighbourhoods in Datuk Keramat, Farlim and Pulau Tikus.



Areas not affected in the northeast district are Air Itam, Farlim (north), Paya Terubong, Penang Hill, Pulau Tikus (majority of neighbourhoods), Waterfall area, Mount Erskine, Taman Jesselton, Tanjong Tokong, Tanjung Bungah and Batu Ferringhi.

In the southwest district of the island, those affected are Balik Pulau (southern neighbourhoods), Batu Maung, Batu Uban, Bayan Baru, Bayan Lepas (including the Free Trade Zone areas), Bukit Jambul, Bukit Penara, Gertak Sanggul, Kampung Terang, Pantai Jerejak, Permatang Damar Laut, Pulau Betong, Taman Relau, Sungai Ara, Sungai Batu and Teluk Kumbar.

The areas not affected in the southwest district are Balik Pulau (northern neighbourhoods) Sungai Pinang and Teluk Bahang.

For a detailed breakdown of the affected areas and maps, visit PBAPP's Facebook page or the www.pba.com.my website.